Shards of hope

Gather round travellers and let me tell you a story about how Gin saved my life.

_____________

I still remember fondly how I got the idea to change country. A broken heart and a life filled with nothing expect Gin and parties, I was going nowhere and I was fast to do so. Days at that time were passing by and I was just watching them like cows watch trains : it was entertaining but I had no idea what the fuck was going on.

And one day a good soul just told me about a job offer in Portugal and I thought that since by all life was a serie of bad ideas what’s worse than adding one more to the picture.
Let me get this straight : I hate heat, the beach and over all I was not in the working mood (God bless French unemployment wage).
So all together moving to a country that I do not know by myself to get a basic job in a call center seemed stupid.

That friend who showed me the job opportunity had the same plan to come here to work and looking back if she wasn’t planning that I don’t think I would’ve seriously thought about it. Anyway we started going over the recruitment process together.
One 2nd grade tests and 2 phone interviews later I got a call telling me that they like my profile and I’m starting in 20 days.

And that’s where I realized that I am a fucking coward. No way I am changing country. Abandon my confort, friends and everything? Hehe, nope.
I just pussied out and declined the offer for administrative reasons because I have to warn 30 days before leaving my appartment, sorry!
On the inside, I felt like shit. 5 months into unemployment I just passed on a job offer, not an adult thing to do but well too late.
My friend told me that she did the same but because she had to stay here for work reasons but we both know that it’s because we were like Tyron Lannister trying to get up the sidewalk, too much of a big step to take.

Fast forward two months after, they called me three times already for other positions but I did my thing and gave excuses and a morning they caught me off guard.

I was drunk as hell and just came back home after a long long night. Just got out of the bathroom where my mouth decided to turn into the Ol’ Faithful and was about to drop dead on my bed like the piece of shit I (am) was.
The phone rang and thinking it was a friend I picked up.

« Hi Tristan, I’m calling you about the job offer, are you still interested? »
« Yes of course I am » I answered in a ethylic language that probably sounded like a burp with different tones.
« I have one that is starting in 40 days and is in high-tech, will you be available then? »
Fuck she found out my only weakness : I’m too lazy to have multiple excuses ready at the same time.
« Yes I will be available because that solve my appartment problem. Haha! »
What the hell are you saying, you drunk fuck ? Shut up!
« Perfect then. I can count you in then, OK? »
« No problem, count me in. »
What? SHUT THE FUCK UP!
« Ok I’ll send you all the details about the job then and we’ll stay in touch for the travelling details. Have a good day! »
« Thank you, you too! Looking forward to come to work with you! »

What. The. Fuck. Just. Happened ?
Did I just made a life changing decision with more Gin than blood in my veins?
Am I retarded? Am I really that fucking retarded that I just put myself in a position where now I have to go there?
Just… Urg. I’ll let sober Tristan handle this mess and I’ll just go to sleep.

That was one of my best idea ever.

Let’s jump eight months after, I have a good job and working with amazing people every day in a job where it is never boring and each day doesn’t look like the day before. Wouldn’t change my position for anything at the moment.
The country is wonderful and the people likewise. Ok the heat is ruining my life and I am currently putting half of my salary in deodorant (Sorry planet Earth) but it’s a small price to pay to be where I am.

Thank you drunk me. For once you didn’t ruin it.
I love you.

Laisser un commentaire

Créez un site Web ou un blog gratuitement sur WordPress.com.

Retour en haut ↑